Author Topic: How to keep Migration Assistant from overwriting existing files on a new Mac  (Read 159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scarlett

  • Updates Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 22996
How to keep Migration Assistant from overwriting existing files on a new Mac
29 August 2017, 2:00 pm



The Mac has a great app called Migration Assistant that is very helpful when setting up a new Mac and you need to transfer files from an old Mac. Jim O’Reilly asks a great question about using Migration Assistant:

If I use Migration Assistant, how can I avoid writing over on the new Mac files with the same name as the corresponding files from the old Mac?

While Migration Assistant is relatively straightforward to use, it does have settings that let you twiddle what’s transferred.

Typically, after you go through the setup process and connect two Macs, you’re given the option to transfer four kinds of things:

To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here



Source: Macworld OS X

This article is offered by  IDG Consumer & SMB. Copyright 1998 - 2017.

>>> To obtain the full Macworld article, click the link in the first post line <<<

 


Except where otherwise stated, all content, graphics, banners and images included © 2006 - 2018 Smokey Services™ -- All rights reserved
Design board graphics, banners and images by DSTM & PseFrank

This site does not store profiling-, tracking-, third-party and/or any other non-essential cookie(s) on client computers and is fully compliant with the EU ePrivacy Directive
Smokey's does not use any Web Analytics/Analysis Service, and also does not use any browser fingerprinting techniques



Smokey's also provides free fully qualified Log / Malware Analysis & Removal Help and System Health Checks